Hochschule für Forstwirtschaft Rottenburg

Hochschule für Forstwirtschaft Rottenburg

University of Applied Forest Sciences

The Rottenburg University of Applied Forest Sciences is a modern university that adapts its teaching to the requirements of the continuously changing graduate career market and the potential jobs targeted by its graduates.
The seven-semester forestry bachelor’s course includes practical education undertaken in the university’s own 25 ha forest where there are numerous test crops, a training hunt and fishing waters. Field trips in Germany and abroad ensure that students gain the broadest range of expert knowledge possible.
The Sustainable Energy Competence (SENCE) master’s course that has been offered in association with the universities of Stuttgart and Hohenheim since the 2002/2003 winter semester, is a four-semester postgraduate course for 25 students leading to a master of science degree.
The seven-semester BioEnergy bachelor’s course has been offered since the 2007/2008 winter semester and gives students the skills to plan and implement energy concepts in the area of biomass.
The Resource Management Water bachelor’s course gives students comprehensive knowledge in the scientific basics that are important for successful water management, as well as dealing with sociological aspects related to the use of water as a resource.
In 2006, the Rottenburg University of Applied Forest Sciences was awarded the "Official Project of the Decade of Education for Sustainable Development" by UNESCO for its commitment to sustainable education and its wide-ranging impact in the interest of sustainability. In 2008, the UNESCO committee awarded the same title to the University for 2008 and 2009.
In December 2007, the University of Applied Forest Sciences Rottenburg came out top in the "Profile and Cooperation – Excellence Strategies for Small and Medium-sized Universities" competition organised by the Stifterverband für die Deutsche Wissenschaft and the Heinz Nixdorf Foundation.



Activity Consulting, Education, Energy, Research, Universities


Prof. Dr. Dr. h. c. Bastian Kaiser (Rekcor) Prof. Dr. Matthias Scheuber (Prorector) Gerhard Weik (Chancellor)

Year of foundation




Supervisory board

Gräfin Bettina Bernadotte, Geschäftsführerin Mainau GmbH
Iris Bienert, Rechtsanwältin, Papierzentrum Gernsbach
Dr. Udo Hartmann, Daimler AG
Grit Puchan, Ministerialdirektorin, Ministerium für Ländlichen Raum und Verbraucherschutz BW
Max Reger, Leiter der Geschäftsführung ForstBW Abteilungsleiter Waldwirtschaft, Landesbetrieb ForstBW und Naturschutz
Dr. Klaus Michael Rückert, Landrat Landkreis Freudenstadt

Prof. Dr. Steffen Abele
Prof. Dr. Thorsten Beimgraben
Prof. Dr. Heidi Megerle
Dr. Katrin Schwineköper
Prof. Dr.-Ing. Harald Thorwarth

MR Dr. Hans J. Reiter Vertretung für das MWK
Rektor Prof. Dr. Bastian Kaiser
Prorektor Prof. Dr. Matthias Scheuber
Kanzler Gerhard Weik
Gleichstellungsbeauftragte Prof. Dr. Monika Bachinger